LeSabre Buick's flagship mid-sized luxury sedan

Improvements / Upgrades to bone-stock 2003 LeSabre

Old 03-16-2017, 01:15 AM
Default Improvements / Upgrades to bone-stock 2003 LeSabre

Newbie here...

After years of owing primarily Toyotas, I find myself to be the proud owner of a new-to-me 2003 LeSabre! This is my first GM car, since a family member owing a 1986 Pontiac 6000 in the early 90s.

My "new" car has less than 60,000 miles, having been owned previously by the an elderly owner since new.

I've read up on the various common issues and quirks, and have come up with the following list of item to fix or upgrade. In descending order of urgency; I will begin the process of fixing each of these items.

I am looking for input as to how to best do this, with recommendations for the "right" parts (my current choice in blue, other option in red). My philosophy has always been to fix it right - fix it once, with the best available parts possible.

My short wishlist of improvements include:

1) Replace the original upper intake manifold (ATP Automotive Graywerks 106001 or Dorman 615-180) and the lower intake manifold gasket (Felpro MS 98014 T or ACDelco 89017816 )

2) Flushing the Dex-Cool and replacing with something else (though I have no idea what would be ideal);

3) Install front and rear sway bars from a Bonneville SSEi, or Cadillac Seville STS; with regards to the rears, my choices are any of the 18mm (20757300) , 20mm (25650388) , or 22mm (25666234). I am honestly not sure how much of a difference the different sizes will make, so any input would be valued. As GM no longer sells these parts directly, I have to rely on either secondary vendors, or the junk yard. Sadly, the local Pick-and-Pulls in my neck of the woods just closed down, and I don't feel like getting fleeced by a wrecker (who have on numerous occasions asked for MORE than new parts from the dealership!)