General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here...

1968 Le-Sabre 350 4 barrel intake swap

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2020, 03:24 PM
Default 1968 Le-Sabre 350 4 barrel intake swap

Hi guys,
i have a 350 with a 2 barrel carb at the moment and the carb is fubar so i'm taking the opportunity to swap it for a 4 barrel manifold that i have on another newer engine. Trouble is the 4 barerel seems to have a lot more going on with EGR and i guess smog kit installed onto it. Would anyone have a diagram showing what's what on the 4 barrel and advice on what i can get rid of and how.
Sorry if its a bit of a basic question, i'm an enthusiastic amateur so i tend to learn as i go along with these things.
Thanks in advance :-)

Old 04-17-2020, 06:11 AM

Will see what I can find.
When you get done you should notice a mileage improvement because a 4bbl breathes better than a 2bbl. The only time the secondaries open is when the pedal is floored. and there were many that the secondaries never opened because the only time the pedal was floored was when starting.

Make sure the 4bbl was update to handle unleaded fuel. (different material used on float needle) otherwise the neoprene would swell and produce a low float level = problems.

I don't remember just what addl pieces were on a 4bbl that influenced EGR, shouldn't be any.

Last edited by hanky; 04-17-2020 at 06:15 AM.
Old 04-17-2020, 04:08 PM

Thanks Hanky,
Ive attached a noted picture of what i have. the notes list what i think i know and a few question on parts i don't :-)
Hopefully its clear

I will try and get some casting numbers so we all know what year the manifold is. The best i could see today is 18436672 actually on the intake manifold but i will try and be 100% on that tomorrow.