General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here...

1954 Engine Start after nap

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2020, 04:24 PM
Default 1954 Engine Start after nap

Our 1954 Buick, Edith, has been napping in our garage for the past 4 or 5 years. It ran well when she was put to bed, but now I want to wake her up. I am not a mechanic...but I am reasonably handy. It seems to me that I should squirt some oil into the cylinders from the spark plug holes before I try to start it.
Any and all advise will be very much appreciated.

Old 04-12-2020, 06:53 AM

I don't know about advice, but there are some concerns which I hope you addressed.
One that comes up right away is the fuel in the tank. What steps were taken to preserve the fuel or prevent it from gumming up the carburetor? To your knowledge was the carb ever altered to handle unleaded fuel. If the needle tip for the needle and seat of the float system was never changed , the rubber tip would swell and produce a low float level that caused all sorts of problems. If that was not considered , we will need to wait and see how it runs. How about some pix ? Thanks.

Roadmaster, Super,,,,, Special ??

Old 04-12-2020, 08:02 AM

Thanks Hanky for your reply.
I don't know about the carb. but prior to this most recent period of non-use, we drove it regularly for several years. Replaced hoses, had the gas tank cleaned and coated, even switched the steering box and added power steering...that was quite a project!
Edith is a Special (41D)....264 V8 with Dynaflow transmission and manual brakes.
I've spent the morning looking up stuff on the internet.....so I am a little more prepared.
I saw where a fellow used "Fogging Oil" in each of the cylinders prior to cranking....I'd never heard of Fogging Oil, but it seems like a good idea. I'll replace the gas, and oil before I try to start it......and the coolant once it starts.
I don't know how to post photographs.