Roadmaster The full size rear-wheel drive Buick of the past, the longest non limo Buicks

1992 Roadmaster Fuel Sending Unit Questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2020, 10:37 PM
Default 1992 Roadmaster Fuel Sending Unit Questions

Hello, I have a 1992 Buick Roadmaster sedan I recently purchased (project). The car sat for 5+ years and we dropped the gas tank to drain the crud out of it, the sending unit is in pretty bad shape, the float is seized up (all rusty) and I am looking for a replacement. Makes sense as the gas gauge was not registering at all. I'm just a little confused, as I see there are at least two different types for the same year, one will be for a wagon and the other for sedan I'm sure, but as I stated before I am a little confused. There seems to be a BAG and BAJ/BEK unit. The only hint I have is I called Autozone and he said the only one it recommended was the BAG-50. Can anybody shed some light on this for me?

Old 04-06-2020, 01:41 AM
Default 1992 Roadmaster

So I figured out it was BAG-50, the tag is attached to the harness on the sending unit. So we cleaned it up a bit and put a different fuel pump in, we will probably be replacing this sending unit, but I had a spare AcDelco fuel pump (BGV00386) for my 1990 Caprice lying around new and never used, so we decided to put that in. We had no power going to the fuel pump, I am currently looking at the Fuel Pump Relay as a possible culprit, it is also possible the harness for the sending unit is bad, or the fuel pump is incompatible with this vehicle.
I have yet to test the relay, I will do that in the morning. If I understand correctly, the AC Relay and the Fuel Pump Relay are the same, and if one is working I can switch one out for the other to test it, is this correct? I might upload a picture just so I can get some clarification, as I am still not 100% sure if what I was looking at was the Fuel Pump Relay, was a Bosch relay, can post number. Anybody care to share any thoughts? Thanks a lot