Buick  Forum - Buick Enthusiasts Forums

Buick Forum - Buick Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.buickforum.com/forum/)
-   Project and Build Forum (https://www.buickforum.com/forum/project-build-forum-42/)
-   -   Help me with my 70 Electra rebuild! (https://www.buickforum.com/forum/project-build-forum-42/help-me-my-70-electra-rebuild-9230/)

PaulG 05-15-2023 07:10 PM

Help me with my 70 Electra rebuild!

Hello everyone,

I've had this project sitting for a couple years now and am starting to get around to rebuilding the engine since it was seized. This is my first time rebuilding an engine from the bottom up. A 4-door 1970 Electra 225 with the 455.
I have the engine out of the car now and almost fully taken apart. One of the rods has a pretty nasty bend to it and the corresponding bearing was nowhere to be seen, which is obviously why it was seized.
The main components of the engine seem alright and I plan on taking the block, heads, crank and rods + pistons to the machine shop to be redone.

It seems like there are a lot of decisions I have to make, and I am looking for a bit of guidance from some of you who are more experienced with these engines (I'm 22 so I didn't grow up with these cars, but am eager to learn).
My goal is to rebuild this engine and achieve factory horsepower and torque specs (or possibly a little bit more; A little performance upgrade won't hurt!).
I am not looking to do any sort of extreme performance build cause I probably cant afford it, and I don't plan on taking this thing to the drag strip.

-Looking for a cam recommendation and what components I would need to accommodate the cam (i.e. springs, lifters)

-As far as I know the 1970 heads and block are quite desirable. I plan to get the heads completely redone.
My question regarding that is should I have them converted to Stage 1 specs? Or are the 1970 heads good enough on their own? My casting numbers are 231786 for the heads.